Get Involved at UCD!

GOALS is organized by a dedicated group of UC Davis students, staff, and faculty volunteers in partnership with Sequoia National Park scientists and the John Muir Institute of the Environment. Please consider sharing your time and talents to help make GOALS a successful, sustainable program!

IMG_0827-1
GOALS volunteers at the 2018 symposium

There are many ways to contribute as a GOALS volunteer! The following committees work together to make GOALS all that it is. Please contact the committee chair if you’re interested in getting involved!

  • Applications
    • Creates/revises and scores scholar and trip leader applications.
    • Chair: Aviva Fiske (afiske@ucdavis.edu)
  • Communications
    • Generates marketing materials for outreach, events, and recruitment.
    • Chair: Olivia Winokur (ocwinokur@ucdavis.edu)
  • Curriculum
    • Develops and revises science, leadership, and outdoors skills curriculum.
    • Chairs: Kait Murray (kamurray@ucdavis.edu) and Mary Clapp (mkclapp@ucdavis.edu)
  • Field Logistics
    • Communicates with SEKI personnel and coordinates all on-the-trip logistics.
    • Chairs: Iris Holzer (ioholzer@ucdavis.edu) and Mary Clapp (mkclapp@ucdavis.edu)
  • Finances and Fundraising
    • Writes grants, holds fundraisers, and keeps track of expenses.
    • Chair: Hannah Waterhouse (hwaterhouse@ucdavis.edu)
  • Gear Gettin’
    • Secures gear donations and organizes gear rentals.
    • Chair: Noelle Patterson (nkpatterson@ucdavis.edu)
  • Mentorship
    • Facilitates connection of and develops materials for GOALS mentor/mentees.
    • Chairs: Emily Pascoe (emilylpascoe@gmail.com) and Karen Holcomb (kmholcomb@ucdavis.edu)
  • Program Evaluations
    • Develops and implements a systematic process and impact evaluation and conducts research related to the experiences of historically marginalized people in STEM.
    • Chairs: Kait Murray (kamurray@ucdavis.edu) and Chris Jadallah (ccjadallah@ucdavis.edu)

We also have opportunities to be a trip leader or GOALS mentor.